Executive search

We find executives who are a good fit for your company, provide added value, engage in continuous training and education and have the potential for further development.

Philosophy

For us, consultants are partners. We assume full entrepreneurial responsibility for each mandate. We have a strong personal interest in maintaining a long-term, successful and excellent relationship with our clients and candidates.

We only accept mandates we believe we can carry out professionally and to the full satisfaction of all involved within a short period of time.

We conduct each search – from the initial briefing to the conclusion – personally and without the involvement of any junior consultants. As an extension of our client, we speak with potential candidates respectfully and on equal terms. Interviews are also conducted exclusively by the partners.

Method

The basis of each search is a detailed, personal briefing meeting with the client. Only after we understand the position and the company and its culture and values in-depth is it possible to fill the position successfully.

Our consulting approach

In order to be able to present the best qualified candidates at the end of a search, it is necessary to think outside the box and to consider people from industries that enable a transfer of knowledge.

A central element of success of each search is a methodical assessment of the companies included in the list of target companies.

To do so, we use publicly accessible platforms, the personal contacts of our consultants, the specific network of our knowledge partners and – in special cases – highly specialized contact researchers. At the same time, we work with industry experts to expand the search to include other companies that seem expedient.

Extraordinary individuals have many choices. As an extension of our clients, our job is to interest candidates in the position and attract them to the company.

We check references – upon request, at the beginning of the search process. This enables us to assess the sustainability of the candidates’ track record as well as their personality at an early stage. The structured interview and science-based online tests form the basis for a thorough and comprehensive assessment of the candidates.

We support candidates in their new positions and also share information with our clients in regular interviews.

Industry expertise

Based on the industry expertise of the consultants, supplemented by the specific industry knowledge of our knowledge partners, we are able to provide advice in most industries expertly and in a forward-looking manner in matters related to management and leadership.

Financial services

Lower revenues, greater requirements, new competition and technological constraints as a result of legacy systems present significant challenges to financial services providers, fundamentally altering the competitive parameters.

In particular, fintechs are showing traditional market participants which elements of the value chain can be offered in a segregated, simplified and therefore more profitable manner, or which services can be provided entirely without intermediaries thanks to disruptive technologies.

Regaining the trust of society, clients and employees remains a priority, especially for large international companies.

Digitalization and automation as well as the intelligent use of current and future data to develop innovative solutions help to create added value.

ICT

The digitalized economy rewards companies that are able to respond to new requirements quickly and precisely.

On the client side, this means, in addition to having ICT that moves at different speeds, ensuring a robust operation and increasing excellence in the areas of cyber security, data management, service and asset management, and the establishment of an architecture that supports a mobile first approach.

On the ICT provider side, the trends toward more software and toward services that are offered on demand and irrespective of location are accelerating.

Powerful platforms and specific ecosystems enable economies of scale, but they also create considerable dependencies.

Media

Aside from strengthening the customer relationship and developing new business and revenue models, the development/adjustment of existing media brands taking account of new technologies and new user behaviors is the biggest challenge facing the media industry.

The dissemination of existing and new publishing offerings as well as a consistent positioning of the media brand across all channels is one of the successes of the industry, alongside efficient production.

In addition to a good sense for what is worth reading, it is necessary to be alert and have the ability to work on the relevant and central social issues and enable the formation of opinions that lead to constructive solutions.

Industry

Industrial business systems are being globalized further, and increasing efficiency and effectiveness are high priorities.

A highly volatile economic environment presents opportunities for agile market participants, but it also requires adaptations to ensure greater robustness during market turbulence.

The digitalization of processes, combined with continuing automation and an intelligent combination of value chain flows remains challenging and capital-intensive, but also essential for increased productivity, greater innovation, flexibility and agility as a response to increasing competition and higher customer requirements.

Life sciences

Increasing pressure to innovate and high development costs, the choice of the optimal commercialization strategy – all while meeting increasingly strict regulatory requirements – present life sciences sectors (pharmaceutical/biotech, medtech and diagnostics) with more challenges than ever.

At the same time, collaboration between young and established companies and the use of data-driven business models presents new opportunities to optimize treatment results and improve profitability.

Services

The service sector is characterized by companies in the area of transportation and logistics, aviation, tourism, business services and professional services.

The individual sectors have different levels of competitive intensity. However, they all face the pressure for a high level of flexibility and comprehensive availability.

The high interchangeability of service and difficult market conditions has led to low margins and a need for strict cost management as well as enormous pressure to consolidate and innovate.

Functional expertise

With a history dating back more than 30 years and an international network, we have extensive international search experience in nearly every corporate function as well as board members, CEOs and senior management functions.

Board members

Strategically navigating the Fourth Industrial Revolution requires a thorough understanding of its impact as well as in-depth knowledge of the relevant technological and social catalysts.

Rather than looking back, we need to take a long view. When there is less planning certainty, it is necessary to find a way to reach the next “level” in good time and, in the best case, before our competitors.

In addition to traditional and normative concerns, the board of the future will have to have IT expertise, knowledge about new industry-specific technologies, familiarity with testing new customer experiences, experience dealing with agile organizations and an increased awareness of social responsibility.

CEO

It is necessary to find the balance between robust current results and future growth.

Increasing difficulty managing various stakeholders and more volatile business and revenue models call for more agile structures and greater innovation.

In the knowledge economy, the CEO is increasingly morphing into the company’s architect and designer, someone who unleashes its collective knowledge, creativity, experience and energy and makes use of these factors.

This transformation requires CEOs with modesty, authenticity and predictability.

CIOs

As an efficient and reliable member of the project and operational business, the CIO plays just as important a role in managing and renewing the infrastructure as in supporting corporate management through a robust enterprise architecture, derived from the corporate strategy via processes, business capabilities, application and technology architecture, portfolio management, data management and cybersecurity.

Digitalization and innovation in business processes are playing an increasingly important role and the CIO is morphing into the chief transformation officer.

This requires a strong business understanding and excellent business and IT acumen. The CIO also drives the cultural transformation of the entire company toward agility and serves as an intermediary between hierarchical management models in the core business and networked organizational models with indirect leadership of IT.

Fast implementation and collaborative service delivery models are becoming more and more important.

CFOs

As an information broker, the CFO must ensure transparency and develop forward-looking statements. In the future, the CFO will increasingly provide added value by shaping tomorrow more than by analyzing yesterday.

Ongoing globalization, unforeseeable and major dislocations on the capital markets, unpredictable interest rates and more volatile exchange rates as well as rapid technological change and new, non-traditional risks, increased regulatory requirements and obsolete valuation models present challenges for CFOs.

Financial efficiency and service level and the ability to protect and safeguard the company’s assets and reputation through functioning internal controls remain a priority.

The CFO of the future will actively contribute to the company’s strategic focus and ensure the efficiency of its strategy through operationalized performance and financial management.

HRMs

The effective management of people within a company needs to change fundamentally and be decoupled from tactical HR work.
Issues like employer branding play an increasingly important role in attracting the best employees. The targeted collection, accumulation and sharing of knowledge within a company will become as important as demographic change, inclusion and the changed expectations of work models.
The company can create the desired identity and valuable engagement through supporting and values and cultural elements.
HRM is destined to become a catalyst of the transformation process toward work and organizational forms with a greater focus on effectiveness that will once again increasingly focus on people.

CSOs & CMOs

Sales and marketing are the big winners of the technological revolution. Never before has there been greater and more precise customer information available to those who know how to use the technology correctly.
The trend is toward real-time and right-time marketing, although the basis for these continues to be a positive customer experience. Analytics and cognitive services support and validate the value promise and the harmonization of the sales channels, while further customized content and offerings enhance the information and purchase experience.
New career fields like data scientist, user experience experts and marketing technologists enhance the sales and marketing organizations.
CMOs must become champions for in-depth knowledge of customer needs and be able to meet these needs through new value promises and/or new business models.

Legal

In legal departments, new topics, such as data security and maintaining data security, safeguarding privacy and protecting intangible assets, are playing an increasingly important role.

The increasingly decentralized and externally supported provision of services raises questions related not only to liability and tax law, but increasingly licensing law as well.

Liability management geared toward the special aspects of networked systems will therefore be essential in the future.

Fees

We work with guaranteed fixed fees. The amount of our fee is based on the amount of time spent on consulting, the complexity and  international scope of the search and the importance of the position.

As our fee is agreed in advance and is not defined as a percentage of the salary, there is at no point an incentive for us to recommend candidates with higher salary expectations or to exclude potential internal candidates who work at the client’s company.

Guarantees

If a candidate we have recommended leaves the company within six to twelve months (depending on the position and fee) for reasons that are demonstrably due to his/her lack of professional qualifications, we will work to find a replacement for no additional fee. Only any expenses incurred will be charged.

If a search project is not completed within the specified period of time, we will continue to work to find a candidate until the position is filled successfully at no additional charge.

A key element of our business policy is that we do not actively contact the employees of our clients for positions at other client companies. This rule applies to the department or division for which we provide consulting. It remains in effect for the duration of the business relationship, but not less than two years.

Executive Search

Wir finden Führungskräfte, die zu Ihrem Unternehmen passen, Mehrwert liefern, sich laufend aus- und weiterbilden und Potential für weitere Entwicklungsschritte haben.

Philosophie

Bei uns sind die Berater Partner. Wir tragen für jeden Auftrag die volle unternehmerische Verantwortung. Wir haben ein starkes persönliches Interesse an einer langfristigen, erfolg­reichen und jederzeit überdurchschnittlich guten Beziehung zu unseren Auftraggebern, Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten.

Wir nehmen nur Mandate an, von denen wir überzeugt sind, dass wir sie innerhalb kurzer Frist professionell und zur vollsten Zufriedenheit aller Beteiligten abwickeln können.

Wir führen jede Suche vom Briefing bis zum Abschluss persönlich durch und setzen keine Juniors ein. Potenzielle Kandidatinnen/Kandidaten sprechen wir als verlängerter Arm unserer Klienten respektvoll auf Augenhöhe immer selber an. Auch Interviews werden ausschliesslich von den Partnern geführt.

Methode

Basis jeder Suche ist ein ausführliches, persönliches Briefinggespräch mit dem Auftraggeber. Nur wenn wir die Position und das Unternehmen mit seiner Kultur und seinen Werten à fond verstehen, ist eine erfolgreiche Besetzung möglich.

Diesem Grundsatz verpflichten wir uns aus Überzeugung und Erfahrung kompromisslos.

Unser Beratungsansatz

Um am Ende einer Suche bestqualifizierte Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten präsentieren zu können, gilt es auch, out-of-the-box zu denken und Zielpersonen aus Industrien zu berück­sichtigen, welche Know-how-Transfer ermöglichen.

Eine zentrale Erfolgskomponente jeder Suche ist die methodische Auswertung der in der Zielfirmenliste aufgeführten Unternehmungen.

Wir nutzen dabei nebst den öffentlich zugänglichen Plattformen die persönlichen Kontakte unserer Berater, das spezifische Netzwerk unserer Knowledge-Partner sowie – in speziellen Fällen – hoch­spezialisierte Kontrakt-Researcher. Gleichzeitig erweitern wir im Kontakt mit Branchenkennern die Suche auf weitere Zielfirmen, die uns zielführend erscheinen.

Ausserordentliche Persönlichkeiten haben die Wahl. Als verlängerter Arm unserer Klienten gehört es zu unserer Aufgabe, die Zielkandidatinnen und Zielkandidaten für die Position zu interessieren und für das Unternehmen zu gewinnen.

Wir prüfen Referenzen auf Wunsch auch schon am Anfang des Suchprozesses. Dadurch können wir die Nachhaltigkeit der Leistungsausweise der Kandidaturen sowie deren Persönlichkeit früh beurteilen. Das strukturierte Interview sowie wissenschaftsbasierte Online-Tests bilden die Basis für eine gründliche und umfassende Beurteilung der Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten

Wir begleiten siegreiche Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten in ihren neuen Positionen und suchen in regelmässigen Abständen auch den Austausch mit unseren Kunden bzw. Auftraggebern.

Industrie Expertise

Bedingt durch das originäre Industrie-Know-how der Berater und ergänzt um spezifisches Branchen-Wissen unserer Knowledge Partner ist es uns möglich, die meisten Industrien kompetent und vorausschauend in Fragen zu Management, Führung und Leadership zu beraten.

Financial Services

Weniger Einnahmen, zusätzliche Auflagen, neue Konkurrenten sowie technologische Zwänge durch Legacy Systeme fordern die Finanz­dienstleister massiv heraus und definieren die Wettbewerbs-Parameter grundlegend neu.

Vor allem die FinTech-Szene zeigt traditionellen Marktteilnehmern auf, welche Elemente der Wertschöpfung isoliert, vereinfacht und daher auch profitabler angeboten werden können, oder welche Dienst­leistungen unter Einbezug dis­rup­tiver Technologien ganz ohne Intermediäre auskommen.

Die Zurückgewinnung des Vertrauens seitens Gesellschaft, Kunden und Mitarbeitenden bleibt vor allem für die grossen internationalen Gesellschaften prioritär.

Die Pro­zess­digitalisierung und Auto­matisierung sowie die intelligente Nutzung vorhandener und künftiger Daten zur Erzeugung neuer inno­vativer Lösungen helfen, Mehrwert zu schaffen.

ICT

Die digitalisierte Ökonomie belohnt Unternehmen, welche schnell und passgenau auf neue Anforderungen reagieren können.

Dies bedeutet kundenseitig nebst einer ‚ICT unterschiedlicher Geschwin­dig­keiten‘, einem robusten Betrieb und zunehmend Excellence in den Themen Cyber Security, Data Management, Service- und Asset-Management, sowie im Aufbau einer Architektur, welche einen ‘Mobile-First-Ansatz’ unterstützt.

Auf der ICT-Anbieter­seite akzentuieren sich die Trends hin zu mehr Software und zu Services, welche On-Demand und standortneutral angeboten werden.

Mächtige Plattformen und spezi­fische Eco-Systeme ermöglichen Skaleneffekte, schaffen aber auch zusehends Abhängigkeit.

Medien

Die Fortentwicklung/Anpassung bestehender Medienmarken unter Berücksichtigung neuer Technologien sowie neuer Nutzungsgewohnheiten ist nebst der Stärkung der Kundenbeziehung sowie der Entwicklung neuer Geschäfts- und Ertragsmodelle die grösste Herausforderung der Medienbranche.

Die Verbreitung bestehender und neuer publizistischer Angebote sowie eine konsistente Positio­nierung der Medienmarke über alle Kanäle gehören nebst einer effizienten Produktion zu den Erfolgsmerkmalen der Branche.

Nebst einem guten Gespür für lesenswertes braucht es die Wachheit und die Fähigkeit, an den relevanten und zentralen gesellschaftlichen Themen zu arbeiten eine Meinungsbildung zu konstruktive Lösungen zu ermöglichen.

Industrie

Die industriellen Geschäftssysteme werden weiter globalisiert, und die Steigerung der Effizienz und Effektivität bleibt hohe Priorität.

Ein sehr volatiles wirtschaftliches Umfeld bietet für agile Marktteilnehmer Chancen, verlangt aber auch Anpassungen für mehr Robustheit bei Marktturbulenzen.

Die Digitalisierung der Prozesse, gekoppelt mit der weitergehenden Automatisierung sowie einem intelligenten Verbund der Wertschöpfungsflüsse, bleibt anspruchsvoll und kapitalintensiv, aber unausweichlich für erhöhte Produktivität, mehr Innovation, Flexibilität und Agilität als Antwort auf den steigenden Wettbewerb und die erhöhten Kundenanforderungen.

Life Sciences

Steigender Innovationsdruck und hohe Entwicklungskosten, die Wahl der optimalen Kommerzialisierungsstrategie – alles unter strenger werdenden regulatorischen Anforderungen – fordern die Life-Sciences-Branchen (Pharma/BioTech, MedTech und Diagnostik) mehr denn je heraus.

Gleichzeitig bietet die Zusammenarbeit zwischen jungen und etablierten Unternehmen sowie der Einsatz datengetriebener Geschäftsmodelle neue Chancen zur Optimierung der Behandlungsergebnisse und Verbesserung der Profitabilität.

Services

Der Services-Sektor ist geprägt durch Unternehmen in den Bereichen Transport und Logistik, Luftfahrt, Touristik, Business Services sowie Professional Services.

Die einzelnen Branchen erfahren unterschiedliche Wettbewerbsintensität. Gemeinsame Herausforderungen sind der Druck nach hoher Flexibilität und umfassender Verfügbarkeit.

Die hohe Austauschbarkeit der Leistung sowie schwierige Marktbedingungen führen zu geringen Margen und der Notwendigkeit zu striktem Kostenmanagement sowie zu hohem Konsolidierungs- und Innovationsdruck.

Funktionale Expertise

Es ist unserem über 30-jährigen Bestehen und der internationalen Vernetzung zu verdanken, dass wir in praktisch allen Corporate Functions sowie in den Funktionen VR, CEO und Geschäftsleitung reiche, internationale Sucherfahrung mitbringen. 

Verwaltungsräte

Die strategische Navigation durch die 4. Industrielle Revolution verlangt nach tiefgehendem Verständnis für deren Auswir­kungen sowie nach robusten Kenntnissen der relevanten technolo­gischen und sozialen Katalysatoren.

„Mehr Fernrohr und weniger Rückspiegel“ ist das Gebot der Stunde. Es gilt, in Zeiten geringerer Planungs­sicherheit einen Weg zu finden, um rechtzeitig, und im Idealfall schneller als der Mitbewerb, in die nächste ‘Gelände­kammer’ zu blicken.

Erfahrungen mit Informations­technologie, neuen industriespezifischen Technologien, der Erprobung neuer Kundenerfahrungen, der Auseinandersetzung mit agilen Organisationen sowie die vermehrte Wahrnehmung gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung sind nebst den traditionellen und normativen Themen in Verwaltungsräten der Zukunft von Nöten.

CEO

Es gilt, die Balance zwischen robusten aktuellen Resultaten und künftigem Wachstum zu finden.

Ein zunehmend anspruchsvolleres Multi-Stakeholder-Spannungsfeld sowie volatilere Geschäfts- und Ertragsmodelle fordern agilere Strukturen und eine höhere Innovationsrate.

In der Wissensökonomie mutiert der CEO zusehends zum Architekten und Designer des Unternehmens, welcher das kollektive Wissen, die Kreativität, die Erfahrung und die Energie der Talente freisetzt und produktiv nutzbar macht.

Diese Transformation verlangt nach CEOs mit Bescheidenheit, Authentizität und Berechenbarkeit.

CIO

Als effizienter und verlässlicher Dienstleister im Projekt- und Betriebsgeschäft sind das Management und die Erneuerung der Infrastruktur ebenso wichtig, wie die Unterstützung der Konzernsteuerung durch eine robuste Enterprise Architektur, abgeleitet von der Unternehmensstrategie über Prozess, Geschäftsfähigkeiten, Anwendungs- und Technologiearchitektur, Portfoliomanagement, Datenmanagement und Cybersicherheit.

Dabei spielt die Digitalisierung und Innovation in den Geschäftsprozessen eine zusehends wichtige Rolle und der CIO mutiert zum Chief Transformation Officer.

Dies bedingt ausgeprägtes Geschäftsverständnis und Parkettsicherheit in Business und IT. Der CIO treibt dabei auch die kulturelle Transformation des Gesamtunternehmens in Richtung Agilität und ist Mittler zwischen hierarchischen Führungsmodellen im Kerngeschäft und netzwerkartigen Organisationsmodellen mit indirekter Führung in der IT.

Geschwindigkeit in der Umsetzung sowie kollaborative Leistungserbringungsmodelle werden wichtiger.

CFO

Als Information-Broker muss der CFO für Transparenz sorgen und Zukunftsaussagen erarbeiten. Er wird künftig vermehrt mit der Gestaltung des Morgen als mit der Analyse des Gestern Mehrwert liefern.

Die fortschreitende Internationalisierung, unvorhersehbare grössere Verwerfungen an den Kapitalmärkten, Zinskapriolen und volatilere Wechselkurse sowie schneller technischer Wandel und neue, nicht klassische Risiken, erhöhte regulatorische Anforde­rungen und obsolete Bewertungsmodelle fordern den CFO heraus.

Finanzeffizienz und Serviceniveau sowie der Schutz und die Sicherung der Vermögenswerte und der Reputation des Unter­nehmens durch funktionierende interne Kontrollen bleiben prioritär.

Die aktive Kontribution an der strategischen Ausrichtung der Unternehmung sowie die Sicherstellung der Strategie-Effizienz durch operationalisierte Performance- und Finanz-Steuerung zeichnen den CFO von morgen aus.

HRM

Das effektive Management der Menschen in einer Unternehmung muss sich fundamental wandeln und von der taktischen Personal­arbeit entkoppeln.

Themen wie Employer Branding spielen bei der Attraktion der Besten eine immer wesen­tlichere Rolle. Die gezielte Sammlung, Mehrung und Teilung des Wissens in einer Unter­nehmung wird ebenso an Bedeutung gewinnen wie der demo­grafische Wandel, die Inklusion und die veränderten Erwartungen an Arbeitsmodelle.

Durch unterstützende und gelebte Werte und Kulturelemente schafft das Unternehmen die gewünschte Identität und das wertvolle Engagement.

HRM ist prädestiniert, zum Katalysator des Transforma­tionsprozesses hin zu Arbeits- und Organisationsformen mit mehr Wirkungsorientierung zu werden, welche den Menschen wieder vermehrt in den Vordergrund stellt.

CSO & CMO

Verkauf und Marketing sind die grossen Gewinner der technolo­gischen Revolution. Noch nie waren für diejenigen, die dies zu nutzen wissen, mehr und präzisere Kunden­informationen verfüg­bar.

Der Trend geht von Real-Time zu Right-Time Marketing, wobei die Basis eine positive Kundenerfahrung bleibt. Analytics und kognitive Services unterstützen und substantiieren das Werte­versprechen und die Harmoni­sierung der Verteilkanäle, weiter individualisierte Inhalte und Angebote bereichern das Informa­tions- und Kauferlebnis.

Neue Berufsbilder wie Data Scientisten, User-Experience-Experten sowie Marketing-Technologist bereichern die Sales- und Marketing-Organi­sationen.

CMOs müssen Champions für profundes Verständnis der Kunden­wünsche werden und die Gabe haben, diese durch neue Werte­versprechen und/oder neue Geschäftsmodelle zu materialisieren.

Legal

Im Portfolio von Rechtsabteilungen gewinnen neue Themen wie der Datenschutz und die Gewährung der Datensicherheit, die Wahrung der Privatsphäre sowie der Schutz immaterieller Werte weiter an Bedeutung.

Die zunehmend dezen­trale und durch ausserbe­triebliche Eco-Systeme unterstützte Leis­tungserbringung wirft nicht nur neue haftungs- und steuerrechliche, sondern vermehrt auch Linzenz­rechts­fragen auf.

Ein an den Beson­derheiten vernetzter Systeme ausgerichtetes Liability Management wird damit in Zukunft unerlässlich sein.

Honorare

Wir arbeiten mit garantierten Festhonoraren. Die Höhe unseres Honorares ist abhängig vom Zeitaufwand für die Beratung, von der Komplexität und Internationalität der Suche sowie von der Bedeutung der Position.

Da unser Honorar im Voraus fest vereinbart wird und nicht als Prozentsatz des Salärs definiert ist, besteht für uns zu keiner Zeit der Anreiz, Kandidaten mit höheren Gehaltsvorstellungen zu empfehlen oder potenzielle interne Kandidaten des Kunden auszuschliessen.

Garantien

Für den Fall, dass ein durch uns eingestellter Kandidat innerhalb von sechs bis zwölf Monaten (positions- und honorarabhängig) nach seinem Eintritt aus Gründen wieder ausscheidet, die nachweislich in seinen mangelnden fachlichen Qualifikationen liegen, verpflichten wir uns, ohne neue Honorarforderungen für Ersatz zu sorgen. Verrechnet wird allenfalls eine Spesenpauschale.

Sollte ein Suchprojekt innerhalb des vorgesehenen Zeitraumes nicht zu Ende geführt werden können, setzen wir unsere Bemühungen ohne zusätzliche Honorarforderung solange unvermindert fort, bis für den Klienten die Position erfolgreich besetzt ist.

Off Limit: Ein wesentliches Element unserer Geschäftspolitik besteht darin, dass wir keine Mitarbeiter unserer Klienten für Positionen bei anderen Klienten aktiv ansprechen. Diese Regel bezieht sich auf die Abteilung bzw. den Unternehmensbereich, den wir beraten. Sie gilt, solange eine Geschäftsbeziehung besteht, mindestens jedoch zwei Jahre.